I will be trying this today! Such a simple yet beautifully effective top, thanks for the inspiration

The Renegade Seamstress

This outfit I saw on Pinterest made my mouth water. (No it wasn’t the ice cream cone.) I just knew I could make something similar if I tried. Found this big blue shirt at the thrift store and just started to cut.

 

I turned it backwards on the dress form and marked the new neckline.

Next, I sewed a small rolled hem.

Then pinned some pleats and sewed 2 lines of stitching about a half inch down. And took in the sides about 4 inches on each side.

I then decided I need to gather the waistline and came across this tutorial on shirring with elastic thread.

Here are the results so far. I’m working on the turquoise necklace right now and I’ll post it when I finish it.

 

For the tutorial on how to make the cardigan, click here

You might also like:

View original post

